The Summer Undergraduate Research Fest (SURF) is truly a collaborative effort. Each year many people contribute to the success of this event. We would like to recognize the following groups and individuals for their dedication and hard work:

We acknowledge the long-standing support of the College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences (CNMS) and Dean Dr. William R. LaCourse. Special thanks to Dawn Stoute for design support and administrative coordination.

We are grateful to the Program directors, Program coordinators and Research mentors who provided research opportunities for undergraduate students.

We are grateful for the Division of Information Technology (DoIT) who provided guidance and direction in hosting this virtual event. Special thanks to Josh Abrams, Instructional Design Specialist, for being such an invaluable resource.

We are appreciative of faculty, staff and interns for their willingness to provide assistance.  Special thanks to April Henry for editing support.

We would like to recognize family, friends and peers of this year’s presenters. Your continued support helps ensure the success of these future researchers.

And most of all, we would like to thank the Student Presenters for SURF 2021. This event would not be possible without you!


Ms. Justine Johnson, Associate Director, Meyerhoff Graduate Program & Executive Director, UMBC STEM BUILD

Ms. Meika Samuel, Program Specialist, UMBC STEM BUILD